Clarion Concerts


Canellakis Brown Duo

June 8, 2024 • 3:00PM
Private Location
Canellakis Brown Duo


Romance from Piano Concerto, Op. 7. Romanze
Clara Schumann (1819-1896)
Beau soir
arr. Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Sonata in A minor, cello, piano, op. 36
Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
Allegro agitato
Andante molto tranquillo
Allegro molto e marcato
— Intermission —
Capriccio, cello, piano
Lukas Foss (1922-2009)
Romance in F Major, cello, piano, op. 36
Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
Prelude and Dance, cello, piano
Michael Stephen Brown (b. 1987)
Romance à GF, cello, piano
Nicholas Canellakis (b. 1984)
Variations on a Theme by Rossini from “Moses in Egypt”
arr. Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840)
Bulgarian Bulge
arr. Don Ellis (1934-1978)


Cellist Nicholas Canellakis and pianist-composer Michael Stephen Brown, comprising the Canellakis-Brown Duo, have been uniting their multi-disciplinary talents and honing their unique musical voice for over fifteen years. They bring their affectionate, brutally honest, and infectious rapport to the stage while presenting programs celebrating the standard literature, little-known gems, and original works and arrangements.

Canellakis and Brown, who “play with their antennae tuned to each other” (The Washington Post), are both longtime artists with the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center. They have performed together virtually all over the world, including the Baltics, the Greek Islands, Cuba, the Far East, and venues all over the US. Recent engagements include Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall in New York City, New Orleans Friends of Music, Rockport Music, the Saratoga Performing Arts Center, ArtPower in San Diego, the Four Arts in Palm Beach, Wolf Trap in Washington D.C., and Music@Menlo in Palo Alto, where they were featured as guest curators.

Both artists maintain active solo careers, performing recitals and concertos each season. Canellakis made his Carnegie Hall Stern Auditorium debut as soloist with the American Symphony Orchestra and Brown is the recipient of an Avery Fisher Career Grant and was a 2018 Emerging Artist of Lincoln Center. They regularly perform at leading music festivals both as soloists and together, including Bard, Ravinia, Bridgehampton, Santa Fe, La Jolla, Moab, Music in the Vineyards, and Chamber Music Sedona, where Canellakis is the Artistic Director.

Brown, a prolific composer, has written a variety of works for Canellakis, most recently a concerto called Vortex for Cello and Strings. Canellakis has composed and arranged several works for the duo across a variety of musical styles. Their compositions will be featured on their upcoming duo album (b)romance, which will be released on First Hand Records in 2023.

Canellakis is also an accomplished filmmaker. He and Brown have produced and starred in a comedy web series called “Conversations with Nick Canellakis,” in which they conduct satirical interviews with stars of the classical music world.

When not performing, they often engage in heated games of scrabble which test the limits of their friendship, but always brings them back together stronger.

Please Donate


We thank the following foundations, businesses and individuals who have supported us in 2021 and 2022.

Benefactors ($5,000+)
Saida Baxt, MD
Jason Subotky & Anne Akiko Meyers / AYCO Charitable Foundation
Sponsors ($1000–$4999)
Alice Platt
Ross A. Garon & Hong K. Suh — In honor of Dave Hall, whose leadership we respect & admire
Bronwyn Bevan
HRBT Foundation
The Feigenbaum Foundation, Inc.
The Bay & Paul Foundations, Inc
The Alexander & Marjorie Hover Foundation Inc.
The Wallace Foundation
Patrons ($500–$999)
Steve & Barbara Smith
Emily Daughtry
Matthew Deming
Tricia & John Bevan
Irene & John Banning
Richard Collens
Price Chopper/ Market 32
Stewart's Shops Corp
TKG Real Estate
Robin Goldstein — in memory of Ann Kirschner
Joe Romano & Dave Hall
Supporters ($250–$499)
Alyssa & V. W. Dodson
Leslie Lassiter
Carsten Otto & DeWayne A. Powell
Matthew Naclerio
Pamela Abernathy — In honor of the Bevan Family
Richard Novik
George & Lorraine Faison
Rosemary Lyons-Chase
Karen Zier
Berkshire Taconic Community Foundations, Inc
Network for Good
Red House Design
The White Hart Inn
Herrington's Hardware
Lance Vermeulen Real Estate Inc.
Harney & Sons Teas
The Inn at Pine Plains
Donors: ($100–$249)
Carol Saginaw
Tambra L Dillon
Michael Hofmann
Marybeth Ketz
Monica Sinclair
Michaela Nonis
Rita Jakubowski
Nokuthula Ngwenyama
Patti Rohrlich
Ruth Seidler
Rosemary Werrett
Doris Gitzy — In honor of Matt Deming
J.P. Levelthal
Bonnie Regendahl
Jay & Patricia Rohrlich
Ann & Mal Barasch
Copake General Store
Hylton Hundt Salon, Inc.
Guido's Fresh Marketplace
Hillsdale Super Market, Inc.
Oblong Books & Music, LLC
Ward's Nursery
Copake Wine Works
Hammertown Barn
Salisbury Wines LLC
The Farmer's Wife Foods, LLC
Hudson Wine Merchants
Herrington Fuels Inc.
Berkshire Food Co-op
Metzwood Insurance
Frames on Wheels, Inc.
Salisbury Bank
The Old Mill
Sprig & Social
GioBatta Alimentari
Houlihan Lawrence

And we thank the following generous foundations, businesses and individuals who helped us bring you our concerts in 2020.

Columbia County Arts Fund, a project of the J.M. Kaplan Fund
Price Chopper
Stewarts Shops
The Wallace Fund
The Farmer’s Wife
Guido’s Supermarket
Harney & Sons
Herrington’s Hardware
The Kinderhook Group
Kinderhook Toyota
Lance Vermeulen Real Estate, Inc.
MetzWood Insurance
Prairie Whale Restaurant
Red House Design
Ann Beckley Barasch
Sherwood & Saida Baxt
Bronwyn Bevan
John & Tricia Bevan
Myron & Harriet Bussel
Edwin Chinery
Agi Clark
Richard Collens
Alfred Daiboch
Emily & Martin Daughtry
Matthew Deming
Vicki Dodson*
George Faison
Amy Goldin
Dave Hall & Joe Romano
Rita Jakubowski
Laraine Lippe*
Benjamin Lipton
Virginia Martin
Belinda Mello & Michael McDonnell*
Michael Mollenkamp
Richard Mousseau
Carol Saginaw
James Sciales & Jennifer Kim*
Monica Sinclair & Brian Hailes*
Sharon Smullen
Claudia Summers
Margareta & Edward Thaute
Eugenia Zukerman

* In memory of Josh Lipton

Members of the Clarion Concerts Board
Artistic Director Emerita: Eugenia Zukerman
President: Dave Hall
Vice Presidet: Elizabeth Davis
Treasurer: Michael Hofmann
Secretary: Alice Platt
Richard Collens
Peter Duda
George Faison
DeWayne Powell
Dede Rothenberg
Michael Rothenberg
Website and Graphic Design
Julian Bevan